Christian Wiman, Once in the West, More Like the Stars, Something in Us Suffering Touches

b30095889509703a2dcd7cc2599925f5

Stars (The Inferno, Canto 34) by Gustave Dore

I have no concluded my reading of Christian Wiman’s book of poems entitled Once in the West. I have given a peer into this book of poetry by selecting one poem from each part. I would like to present a poem from the last part, “More Like the Stars.” I treasured each of the four poems in the last section, so it is hard for me to pick. But since it is the final poem of the book, I would like to show “Something in Us Suffering Touches.” This poem has a unique and specific shape, so I will not try to render it here. Instead I will post a link to it on Poetry Foundation. This is actually a link to all four poems of “More Like the Stars.” “Something in Us Suffering Touches” is the final poem of those four. However, I recommend reading all four.

2 thoughts on “Christian Wiman, Once in the West, More Like the Stars, Something in Us Suffering Touches

    • Well, I will be alternating between contemporary poets and non-contemporary poets. Thus, I will begin reading The Four Quartets by T.S. Eliot when I return to Fayetteville. But after that I plan to read Scott Cairns’ Idiot Psalms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

