The History of Philosophy

Since I am currently reading The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius, I have been thinking about my experience with primary philosophical texts. I would like to record here what I have read, and what most interests me to read soon. I am recording entire texts. I will not consider something like Nicomachean Ethics, since I have only read books 8 and 9. I will include books that some might argue are not “in the realm of Philosophy.” I am claiming, then, that they do belong in the realm of Philosophy.

Books of Philosophy I have read:

  • Classical/Ancient
    • Apology by Plato
    • Crito by Plato
    • Euthyphro by Plato
    • Lysis by Plato
    • Less  by Plato
    • Parmenides by Plato
    • Phaedo by Plato
    • Republic by Plato
    • Theaetetus by Plato
    • Poetics by Aristotle
  • Late Classical/Early Medieval
    • Confessions by Augustine
    • The Consolation of Philosophy by Boethius (currently reading)
  • Modern
    • Training in Christianity by Søren Kierkegaard

I am currently reading The Consolation of Philosophy. In the coming semester I will read and translate On the Nature of Things by Lucretius, as well as acquainting myself with the major modern philosophers (most likely Descartes, Spinoza, Locke, Leibniz, Berkeley, Hume, and Kant). Yet, these are the books of Philosophy I am most interested in (I am choosing one book of Philosophy for each of the four eras I have identified – there are other works I want to read):

  • Classical/Ancient
    • Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle
  • Late Classical/Early Medieval
    • City of God by Augustine
  • Medieval
    • Summa Theologiae by Thomas Aquinas
  • Modern
    • The Sickness Unto Death by Søren Kierkegaard
Leave a Reply

