Music and Coffee

A song and a coffee I have enjoyed this week.

Song: Ulysses by Josh Garrels

a0183069230_10

Lyrics:

I’m holding on to the hope that one day this could be made right
Cause I’ve been shipwrecked and left for dead and I’ve seen the darkest sights
Everyone I’ve loved seems like a stranger in the night
But Oh my heart still burns, tells me to return, and search the fading light

I’m sailing home to you I won’t be long
By the light of moon I will press on
Until I find my love

Trouble has beset my ways, and wicked winds have blown
Sirens call my name, they say they’ll ease my pain, then break me on the stones
But true love is the burden that will carry me back home
Carry me with the memories of the beauty I have known

I’m sailing home to you I won’t be long
By the light of moon I will press on

So tie me to the mast of this old ship and point me home
Before I lose the one I love, before my chance is gone
I want to hold her in my arms

[See Genius for lyric annotations]


Coffee: Columbia Nilo Martinez (Onyx Coffee Lab)

Cup/Flavor Notes: Vanilla Yogurt, Floral Honey, Honeydew, Soft

I had Nilo Martinez as a pour over and an espresso side-by-side at a coffee shop called Puritan.

Fotor_146963728271696

5 thoughts on “Music and Coffee

  1. No, not really. I can’t put my finger on why I don’t like his voice. Of course, further listening may increase appreciation.

    Like

  2. By the way, tell me more about Puritan. You haven’t mentioned that coffeehouse before. Fayetteville has a surprising number of coffeehouses, although college towns are often supportive of such places.

    Will you be working as a barista at a coffeehouse during the coming academic year? If so, where?

    Like

    • Puritan is a shop that sells coffee, tea, and beer from the best businesses in Northwest Arkansas (Onyx Coffee, Savoy Tab, and local breweries).

      We will see about working at a coffee shop.

      Like

Leave a Reply

