Poets

In class today, we worked with the poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins. It was my first experience with this poet. I enjoyed the way he cares for language and the way he uses form to further communicate content.

This inspired me to make a list of poets I wish to spend time with in my life-time.

  • Homer
  • Virgil
  • Ovid
  • Horace
  • Dante Alighieri
  • Geoffrey Chaucer
  • William Shakespeare
  • John Milton
  • John Donne
  • George Herbert
  • Samuel Taylor Coleridge
  • Percy Bysshe Shelley
  • Alfred, Lord Tennyson
  • Gerard Manley Hopkins
  • Emily Dickinson
  • T.S. Eliot
  • Robert Frost
  • Christian Wiman
2 thoughts on “Poets

  1. Among those poets, I wonder which ones you will have habitual companionship. In my Personal Canon, I’ve experienced habitual companionship with these poets: Homer, the Psalmists, Shakespeare, Milton, Herbert, and Frost.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

