Dubliners by James Joyce: An Encounter

My voice had an accent of forced bravery in it and I was ashamed of my paltry stratagem. I had to call the name again before Mahony saw me and hallooed in answer. How my heart beat as he came running across the field to me! He ran is if to bring me aid. And I was penitent; for in my heart I had always despised him a little.

(p. 20)

Mahony is the main character’s best friend in this story. How easy do find ourselves despising those closes to us! I think Joyce is showing the contempt of all human beings for love. We are especially like this with the Lord. When God adopts us as sons and daughters, we rebuke His love. Why?

Leave a Reply

